The imposing frontage of the Fenwick Department Store was constructed in 1913 using porcelain faience made by Royal Doulton. Through time and weather it had suffered considerable deterioration and major alteration. In 1993, it was not listed and might have been replaced with an entirely new building, however, following our advice the client decided to retain, repair and extend the impressive frontage. Two new towers were added on either side of a range of tall dormers housing a new restaurant. Tall bronze shop windows were reintroduced, sheltered by a glass canopy to frame Fenwick’s famed Christmas windows. It remains a source of pride for us to have been involved in the restoration and extension of a unique part of Newcastle’s landscape, and a monument to one of the great British retailers.